facebook   twitter   youtube  


International Symposium on the Training of Next Generation of Community Based Researchers, Victoria, Canada, September 15, 2015


The UNESCO Chair in Community Based Research and Social Responsibility in Higher Education convened an International Symposium on Challenges in the Training of Community-based Research, on September 15, 2015 at the University of Victoria, Canada. This symposium was conducted under the project on ‘Building the next generation of Community Based Researchers’, which is currently being undertaken by the Chair. You can read more about the project at: https://unescochair-cbrsr.org/unesco/building-the-next-generation-of-community-based-researchers-the-nextgen-project/

The symposium witnessed presentations on innovative approaches for developing capacities in participatory research and the sharing of ideas about strategies for building a global partnership for training practitioners and researchers at both university and community levels in the field of community based research. The presentations of our four thematic partners, specifically addressed the challenges and issues in the sphere of the training in CBR. The Symposium was part of a two-day event (September 15th and 16th) which included planning for an International Consortium for Training in the field of Community Based Research. The meeting on Sept. 16th assessed the capacities, interests and potential roles of our four thematic partners (PRIA, Coady Institute, IRES, ISICUE) and regional partners (Gulu University-Uganda, Islamic University-Indonesia, COEP-Brazil, and others) in the International Consortium. The discussion focused on building the main architecture of the Consortium, such as its organizational design, governance structure, institutional roles, membership and potential clients.

You can access the detailed report of the symposium at : Symposium-summary.pdf


"We would like to hear from you. Please share your comment, feedback and suggestions on the section below.”

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved.